The item that has sparked the most debate so far during the 2022 season of the Indian Premier League is the fact that the Mumbai Indians are off to their worst start to a season ever (IPL). The most successful squad has lost all eight of its games, and its most recent loss came on Sunday against the Lucknow Super Giants. Check out Exchmarket, one of India’s biggest bookmakers, if you enjoy placing bets online. On this bookmaker website, a bettor would find anything to anything that they need.

Mumbai Indians (8) – 2022

Despite Rohit Sharma and the rest of his team losing by 36 runs to the Lucknow Super Giants, who were playing in their first IPL game, Rahul struck his second hundreds of the season. It is important to note that Rahul’s two tons in the IPL 2022 were against the Mumbai Indians. The five-time champions have so had the worst season opening for an Indian Premier League.

Delhi Daredevils (6) – 2013

The longest losing streak in IPL history has not been the Mumbai Indians’ eight consecutive defeats. To clear up any confusion, the Delhi Capitals, who were formerly known as the Daredevils, broke a record in 2013 by becoming the first team to lose its first six games in a season. Later, in 2019, the Royal Challengers Bangalore matched this record.

Comparing these losing streaks to what three other teams have accomplished throughout the course of an Indian Premier League season, they are nothing to be proud of. One of the longest losing streaks in IPL history was suffered by the following teams:

Kolkata Knight Riders (9) – 2009

The Kolkata Knight Riders won just one of their nine games in the second season of the Indian Premier League, which was played in South Africa and began in 2009. Brendon McCullum’s team, which finished eighth in the eight-team league despite winning just three of its 14 total games, was led by the captain. One game, which was scheduled to be played versus Chennai Super Kings, was postponed due to rain.

Pune Warriors India (9, twice) – 2012

They took part in all three Indian Premier League seasons, but they were unable to have a meaningful influence in any of them. In both their second and third seasons as a franchise, Pune Warriors were successful in duplicating KKR’s nine-match losing streak. Yuvraj Singh, who was dealing with cancer at the time, was replaced as the team’s captain during the 2012 campaign by Sourav Ganguly. However, due to the team’s subpar performance, Ganguly was ultimately fired from his position. With a record of four victories from a total of 16 games played, they received the lowest finish among the nine teams in the league.

Yet the team’s performance did not improve when Angelo Mathews took over as captain to begin the 2013 campaign. The all-rounder from Sri Lanka was replaced by Ross Taylor during a Mary-go-round for the captaincy, while the player from New Zealand was replaced by Aaron Finch. Despite having four victories in their final 16 games, they avoided receiving the wooden spoon because Delhi Daredevils won three of their games.

Delhi Capitals/Daredevils (9) – 2014

The Delhi team assembled its group from scratch after coming in last place the season before and didn’t keep any of its previous players. The team coached by JP Duminy lost all but two of its 14 games, and they lost all nine of its championship contests. Their two victories tied the record for the fewest number of victories in a season, which was previously shared by Deccan Chargers in the competition’s inaugural year. The Chargers had a winless streak of seven games during the season.

Punjab Kings (7) – 2015

Along with it, the Delhi Capitals saw two losing runs of six matches in 2013, as did the Punjab Kings (Kings XI Punjab), who suffered a losing streak of seven matches in 2015. Royal Challengers Bangalore lost six straight games in the year 2017.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *